Viewing as a Student

Learn how to use our Student View mode and its benefits.

Support Team avatar
Written by Support Team
Updated over a week ago

What is the Student View feature?

The View as Student feature in Kritik offers instructors a valuable opportunity to step into their students' shoes and experience a given course from their perspective. By selecting this option, instructors can enter a read-only mode that mirrors the exact view a specific student has within that particular course. This tool allows instructors to understand how students interact with Kritik, which can ultimately help with setting up activities and ensuring a seamless experience for students.

How does this work?

To use the feature and view a course from the perspective of any given student, follow these steps:

  1. Log into Kritik and navigate to the course in mind.

  2. Navigate to the Course Roster tab within this course (as shown in the purple navigation panel to the left side of the screen) and locate the student whose view you would like to look through.

  3. Click on the three dots on the right end of the particular student's row. Here, you will see the option to "View as this student". Click this option.

  4. You will then see a message show up on your screen confirming the name and email of the student you are about to log in as and the limitations of this view. Click "Start Student View" when you are ready, or "Cancel" if you would like to exit the process.

  5. Your screen will change into the student's view immediately after. In this mode, you are able to see through your student's perspective:

    1. The content viewable to them in the course's Course Info page

    2. The activities viewable to them in the course's Activities page, and their progress or submissions on any past/current activities

      1. NOTE: You are not able to make any changes to student submissions

    3. Their Account Settings (such as Name, Email, and notification preferences)

      1. NOTE: You are not able to make any changes to student account settings

  6. To exit out of the student's view, click "Exit Student View" at the top right of your screen. This will immediately end the View as Student mode and return you to your account, within the course's Students section as before.

Did this answer your question?